Contact Us!
Contact us by using our convenient online form, or you may visit our staff directory.

Search our Site
Search our Site
Search for...

Web Sponsors
Advertise Here   Advertise Here
Single Catholics   Single Catholics
Visiting Angels   Visiting Angels
Catholic Gifts   Catholic Gifts
App for Churches   App for Churches
Villa Angela Care   Villa Angela Care
Catholic Books   Catholic Books
Catholic Dating   Catholic Dating
Hamilton Remodel   Hamilton Remodel
Work from Home   Work from Home
30% Off Tablets   30% Off Tablets
Catholic Gifts   Catholic Gifts
Friendship Villag   Friendship Villag
Catholic Gifts   Catholic Gifts
View all Sponsors
Sponsor this church

St. Elizabeth Church at 6077 Sharon Woods Blvd., Columbus, OH 43229 US - Parish History

Parish History

The parish of Saint Elizabeth was established May 22, 1967, by Bishop John J. Carberry.  Father Robert L. Noon was appointed as its founding Pastor, June 16, 1967.  Father Noon has since retired.  Sunday Masses for the first five months were celebrated at Alpine Elementary School with parish meetings held at St. Andrew Presbyterian Church.  The parish leased the basement of the old Main-Federal Savings and Loan building (on State Route 161 also known as East Dublin-Granville Road) in December, 1968.  The land for the parish was donated by a gentleman within the Sharon Woods Community who stipulated that the church be named after his deceased sister, Elizabeth.  Ground-breaking for the church took place September 14, 1969, and the First Mass was joyfully celebrated Saturday, September 5, 1970, with formal dedication observed on March 26, 1971.

Father Arthur Dimond, our second Pastor, arrived in our Christian Community in August, 1977, and served up until his retirement in July, 1989.  Father Dimond passed on April 29, 2003.

Father Rodric J. DiPietro, our third Pastor, served from July, 1989 until June, 2001, and was very active in the renovation of the church in 1992.  He also served as Pastor at St. Brendan’s Church in Hilliard, Ohio, who has passed on August 13, 2011.

Father Charles E. Cotton, our fourth Pastor, was welcomed in July, 2001, and was constructive in the planning and building of our new education/meeting center and renovation of Pastors’ Hall in 2007.  The new education center and renovation of Pastors’ Hall was formally Blessed March 17, 2007, by Bishop Fredrick J. Campbell.  Father Cotton continues as Pastor here at St. Elizabeth in the Year of Our Lord, 2012.

We have been very fortunate to have Deacons Larry Koebel, Frank X. Ball (retired June, 2006), John J . Rericha (passed on April 29, 2009), and Frank X. McDevitt (retired February, 2010) who served at Saint Elizabeth Parish.  Our current Deacon, Dean W. Racine, was ordained from St. Elizabeth, November 29, 2008.



This site is hosted by | Find Mass Times at